The San Gabriel Valley

The San Gabriel Valley is one of the major geographic areas of Southern California. The Valley is bounded by the San Gabriel Mountains to the north, the Chino Hills and San Jose Hills to the east, the Puente Hills to the South, and the San Rafael Hills to the west. The Valley is named after the southward flowing San Gabriel River, which runs through the center of the San Gabriel Valley, and serves as one of the boundaries of the East San Gabriel Valley Planning Area.

The East San Gabriel Valley


The East San Gabriel Valley is a subregion of the San Gabriel Valley. This subregion is also one of the planning areas established by the General Plan. This planning area is located south of the Angeles National Forest, west of San Bernardino County, North of Orange County, and generally east of the Interstate-605 and the San Gabriel River.


The geography of the East San Gabriel Valley is characterized by smaller valleys and rolling, dry hills. The San Gabriel River runs along the western boundary of the Planning Area. The Puente Hills, which form the southern border for the Planning Area, include natural areas and recreational
opportunities. The northern portion of the Planning Area is characterized by
the urban-wildland interface with the Angeles National Forest and San Gabriel Mountains.


There are 13 cities and 21 unincorporated communities in the East San Gabriel Valley.


• Azusa
• Baldwin Park
• Claremont
• Covina
• Diamond Bar
• Glendora
• Industry
• La Puente
• La Verne
• Pomona
• San Dimas
• Walnut
• West Covina

Unincorporated Communities

• Avocado Heights
• Charter Oak
• Covina Islands
• East Azusa
• East Irwindale
• East San Dimas
• Glendora Islands
• Hacienda Heights
• North Claremont
• North Pomona
• Northeast La Verne
• Northeast San Dimas
• Rowland Heights
• South Diamond Bar
• South San Jose Hills
• South Walnut
• Valinda
• Walnut Islands
• West Claremont
• West Puente Valley
• West San Dimas


East-west transportation access in the Planning Area is provided by Interstate-10,
Interstate/State Route-210 and State Route-60. North-South transportation access is
provided by Interstate-605 and State Route-57. Public transit in the East San Gabriel Valley
is provided by Metrolink commuter rail, Foothill Transit local and regional bus lines, and
other transit operators.